Seven new gamers in All Blacks rebuild

Jenna Harris September 7, 2020 4 No Comments

Seven new players in All Blacks rebuild

New All Blacks coach Ian Foster has began his rebuild for the 2023 Rugby World Cup with seven new faces in his first squad though the crew has but to have any matches confirmed for this yr.

Loose forwards Hoskins Sotutu and Cullen Grace, locks Quinten Strange and Tupou Vaa’i, prop Alex Hodgman and out of doors backs Caleb Clarke and Will Jordan had been named on Sunday within the squad.

Prop Karl Tu’inukuafe and out of doors again Damian McKenzie have additionally earned recollects after battling with harm final yr, whereas uncapped unfastened ahead Akira Ioane and hooker Asafo Aumua have additionally compelled their means again into the squad.

Both Ioane and Aumua have performed non-Test matches.

Flyhalf Josh Ioane, who made his Test debut off the bench final yr, was not included with McKenzie anticipated to cowl the place if Beauden Barrett or Richie Mo’unga get injured, All Blacks selector Grant Fox mentioned.

The All Blacks are tentatively scheduled to play Australia in Test matches subsequent month and presumably the southern hemisphere’s Rugby Championship, additionally involving South Africa and Argentina, in a November-December window.

A resurgence of the novel coronavirus in each Australia and New Zealand and instances of COVID-19 within the Pumas squad, nevertheless, have put the matches beneath a shadow.


Forwards: Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, Codie Taylor, Alex Hodgman, Nepo Laulala, Tyrel Lomax, Joe Moody, Karl Tu’inukuafe, Ofa Tuungafasi, Quinten Strange, Patrick Tuipulotu, Tupou Vaa’i, Samuel Whitelock, Sam Cane (c), Shannon Frizell, Cullen Grace, Akira Ioane, Dalton Papalii, Ardie Savea, Hoskins Sotutu

Backs: TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Brad Weber, Beauden Barrett, Richie Mo’unga, Braydon Ennor, Jack Goodhue, Rieko Ioane, Anton Lienert-Brown, Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Caleb Clarke, Will Jordan, Damian McKenzie, Sevu Reece


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *