Chris Fagan pumps up Lachie Neale’s Brownlow Opportunities

Jenna Harris October 17, 2020 5 No Comments

Chris Fagan pumps up Lachie Neale’s Brownlow chances

Brisbane AFL celebrity Lachie Neale are a deserving Brownlow Medal winner, based on Lions trainer Chris Fagan.

Fagan states Lachie Neale winning the Brownlow Medal are a silver lining to the Lions’ year after their unsatisfactory preliminary final defeat.

Fagan’s men bowed from the premiership race following having a 40-point reduction to Geelong in the Gabba on Saturday night, reaching the opportunity to play with a grand final on home soil.

But red-hot Brownlow favorite Neale winning the match’s most prestigious individual honor for the first time could be cause for celebration.

“I’d love to see him win the Brownlow,” Fagan stated following the preliminary closing.

“I expect he can, he deserves it, he has had a wonderful season.

“But there’ll be other boys who’ve had good years also that could deserve it.

“I’m sure that whoever wins it, they all deserve to win it.”

Neale directed the AFL to get disposals in 2020 and rated in the top five for clearances and contested possessions.

The 27-year old was outstanding again to its Lions in their preliminary final defeat, finishing 24 disposals, eight clearances and 2 aims.

“He’s been fantastic and his game tonight was probably a microcosm of the work that he’s done over the last two years,” Fagan said.

“He was the man that was really attempting to raise us and that he kicked that good long aim.

“Lachie’s a real professional and he is really frustrated as the rest of us.

“We desired to enter the grand final and give ourselves a opportunity.

“But he is a great person to have in our club because he’s always trying to get better and you can’t have enough of those guys.”

Neale is a 1. 25 TAB preferred to win Brownlow.

Melbourne’s Christian Petracca ($7), Port Adelaide veteran Travis Boak ($8) and much-improved St Kilda ball-winner Jack Steele ($13) are best-placed to trigger an upset following stellar seasons.

Of the previous winners, Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield ($21), Richmond’s Dustin Martin ($26) and Fremantle’s Nat Fyfe ($51) are believed outside opportunities.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *